2015 Concerts

Philharmonic Orchestra

Picture by Edward Moss www.edwardmoss.co.uk All rights reserved. David Quigley musician


Sunday, 22 March 2015




Bramall, Concert Hall



Internationally acclaimed Irish concert pianist David Quigley joins the Music Society’s Philharmonic Orchestra in a performance of George Gershwin’s captivating Piano Concerto in F. The concerto is presented alongside the music of Maurice Ravel – in recognition of the mutual admiration the two composers had for each other’s work. The orchestra perform Ravel’s Pavane for a Dead Princess, ballet music from L’éventail de Jeanne and Mother Goose, as well as the composer’s most recognisable work, the one-movement Boléro.

Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F

Ravel: Fanfare for L’éventail de Jeanne, Pavane pour une infant défunte, and Boléro