2014 Concerts

University Symphony Orchestra


Sunday, 23 March 2014




Bramall Music Building, Elgar Concert Hall

The University Symphony Orchestra performs the eighth of Vaughan Williams’ nine symphonies, in which the composer shows a new desire for experimentation with tone and colour. This work includes a march-style movement solely for the wind section, followed by a movement for strings, and features a wider variety of percussion instruments than utilized in the previous seven symphonies.

We also feature the winner of the annual University Music Society concerto competition, Joshua Rohde, who will perform Elgar’s Cello Concerto, and the orchestra gives the premiere performance of Simeon Liley’s Edgbaston in the Rain.

Presented by Department of Music